Lions who were not alive for team's last division title

The Lions can potentially clinch their first division title since the 1993 season this weekend against the Giants (find out how here).

For those of us old enough to remember Wayne Fontes, Barry Sanders, Rodney Peete and Erik Kramer, it doesn't seem that long ago. Chris Spielman was still a spry 28-year-old and first-round pick Ryan McNeil was just beginning a 10-year NFL career (he's 46 now, by the way).

But some Lions players cannot remember this time because they were not born yet. Here is a list of Detroit players that were not alive the last time their team clinched a division title (back when it was the NFC Central) and a list of players who were not alive the last time they won a playoff game just to remind you that time is more than just a flat circle.

Last division-clinching game (Jan. 2, 1994):

»Defensive tackle A'Shawn Robinson (Born March 21, 1995)

»Cornerback Adairius Barnes (April 30, 1994)

»Running back Dwayne Washington (April 24, 1994)

»Tackle Taylor Decker (August 23, 1994)

Last playoff win (Jan. 5, 1992):

»Defensive tackle A'Shawn Robinson (Born March 21, 1995)

»Cornerback Adairius Barnes (April 30, 1994)

»Running back Dwayne Washington (April 24, 1994)

»Linebacker Thurston Armbrister (December 25, 1992)

»Tackle Taylor Decker (August 23, 1994)

»Tight end Eric Ebron (April 10, 1993)

»Safety Miles Killebrew (May 10, 1993)

»Quarterback Jake Rudock (January 21, 1993)

»Linebacker Antwione Williams (May 26, 1993)

»Fullback Michael Burton (Feb. 1, 1992)

»Center Graham Glasgow (July 19, 1992)

»Receiver T.J. Jones (July 19, 1992)

»Tackle Corey Robinson (May 21, 1992)

»Guard Laken Tomlinson (Feb. 9, 1992)

»Running back Ameer Abdullah (June 13, 1993)

»Cornerback Quandre Diggs (Jan. 22, 1993)

»Cornerback Ian Wells (July 14, 1993)

»Tight end Cole Wick (Nov. 30, 1993)

»Longsnapper Jimmy Landes (August 13, 1992)

Should the Lions actually reach the postseason and win a playoff game, they would end the second-longest playoff drought in NFL history. The Lions still celebrate the 1993 team as one of their franchise's favorites, but would do well to add another banner that some of their players can actually remember.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Purchase single game tickets for the 2022 season