Skip to main content

NFL distributes compensatory draft picks to 23 clubs

A total of 32 compensatory choices in the 2011 NFL Draft have been awarded to 23 teams, the NFL announced Friday.

Under the rules for compensatory draft selections, a team losing more or better compensatory free agents than it acquires in the previous year is eligible to receive compensatory draft picks.

The number of picks a team receives equals the net loss of compensatory free agents up to a maximum of four. The 32 compensatory choices announced today will supplement the 221 choices in the seven rounds of the 2011 NFL Draft (April 28-30), which will kick off in primetime for the second consecutive year.

The first round will be held on Thursday, April 28 and begin at 8 p.m. ET. The second and third rounds are set for Friday, April 29 at 6 p.m. ET followed by rounds 4-7 on Saturday, April 30 at Noon ET.

This year, the compensatory picks will be positioned within the third through seventh rounds based on the value of the compensatory free agents lost.

Compensatory free agents are determined by a formula based on salary, playing time and postseason honors. The formula was developed by the NFL Management Council. Not every free agent lost or signed by a club is covered by this formula.

Three clubs this year (Oakland, Seattle and New Orleans) will each receive a compensatory pick even though they did not suffer a net loss of compensatory free agents last year. Under the formula, the compensatory free agents lost by these clubs were ranked higher than the ones they signed (by a specified point differential based upon salary and performance).

Twenty one compensatory picks were awarded to clubs based upon the compensatory pick formula. By rule, 11 additional choices were awarded at the end of the seventh round to bring the total number of compensatory selections to 32, equaling the number of NFL clubs. The 11 additional picks were awarded to Carolina, Buffalo, Cincinnati, Denver, Cleveland, Arizona, San Francisco, Tennessee, Dallas, Washington and Houston based upon the 2011 draft selection order.

Following are the compensatory free agents lost and signed last year by the clubs that will receive compensatory picks in the 2011 NFL Draft:

Baltimore Ravens
Lost: Justin Bannan, Dwan Edwards

Carolina Panthers
Lost: A.J. Feeley, Julius Peppers

Green Bay Packers
Lost: Aaron Kampman

Miami Dolphins
Lost: Nathan Jones, Jason Taylor
Signed: Karlos Dansby

Minnesota Vikings
Lost: Artis Hicks, Chester Taylor

New Orleans Saints
Lost: Scott Fujita
Signed: Jimmy Wilkerson

New York Giants
Lost: David Carr, Fred Robbins

Oakland Raiders
Lost: Cornell Green
Signed: Kyle Boller

Philadelphia Eagles
Lost: Jason Babin, Sean Jones

San Diego Chargers
Lost: Brandon Manumaleuna, Kassim Osgood

San Francisco 49ers
Lost: Arnaz Battle, Tony Pashos
Signed: David Carr

Seattle Seahawks
Lost: Nate Burleson
Signed: Ben Hamilton

Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Lost: Will Allen, Jimmy Wilkerson
Signed: Sean Jones

Tennessee Titans
Lost: Alge Crumpler, Kyle Vanden Bosch
Signed: Jason Babin

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.