Skip to main content

Thirty-two players nominated for 2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

The 32 player nominees for the eighth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

Created in 2014, the award honors the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community -- Warrick Dunn, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler -- will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote in December.

"These Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees exemplify the fiercest competition combined with the excellence of sportsmanship," said Troy Vincent, EVP of Football Operations of the NFL. "It reflects the very values of respect, resilience, and fairness that inspire both teammates and opponents to be the best in the world."

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Nominees

Table inside Article
Team Player
Arizona Cardinals Budda Baker
Atlanta Falcons Grady Jarrett
Baltimore Ravens Calais Campbell
Buffalo Bills Von Miller
Carolina Panthers Johnny Hekker
Chicago Bears DeAndre Houston-Carson
Cincinnati Bengals B.J. Hill
Cleveland Browns Nick Chubb
Dallas Cowboys Dak Prescott
Denver Broncos Pat Surtain II
Detroit Lions Kalif Raymond
Green Bay Packers Aaron Jones
Houston Texans Jerry Hughes
Indianapolis Colts DeForest Buckner
Jacksonville Jaguars Christian Kirk
Kansas City Chiefs Nick Bolton
Las Vegas Raiders Maxx Crosby
Los Angeles Chargers Austin Ekeler
Los Angeles Rams Cooper Kupp
Miami Dolphins Alec Ingold
Minnesota Vikings Dalvin Cook
New England Patriots David Andrews
New Orleans Saints Ryan Ramczyk
New York Giants Daniel Jones
New York Jets Duane Brown
Philadelphia Eagles Lane Johnson
Pittsburgh Steelers Alex Highsmith
San Francisco 49ers Kyle Juszczyk
Seattle Seahawks Will Dissly
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Lavonte David
Tennessee Titans Derrick Henry
Washington Commanders Terry McLaurin

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Previous Recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Table inside Article
Year Player Team
2021 WR Matthew Slater New England Patriots
2020 QB Teddy Bridgewater Carolina Panthers
2019 RB Adrian Peterson Washington Commanders
2018 QB Drew Brees New Orleans Saints
2017 LB Luke Kuechly Carolina Panthers
2016 RB Frank Gore Indianapolis Colts
2015 CB Charles Woodson Oakland Raiders
2014 WR Larry Fitzgerald Arizona Cardinals